Sunday, November 25, 2012

Almost There

So the past week or so has been a little hectic and also a bit soothing. At first I was getting bummed out on money issues, but then something in me flipped a switch and I came to a conclusion. I am ALWAYS going to have crappy money issues and I just need to roll with it. Stressing out doesn't do me any good and I just end up putting myself in a bad mood for days on end. Hopefully I can keep this in my head for a while.

My old phone got shut off, and it needed to. It was a final step in leaving an aspect of my "old life". The new phone is fun, and after almost two weeks of beautiful silence it was refreshing to have a new one. It also helped me not be so bummed about...

My laptop is kinda fried. It's stuck in a reboot cycle I can't seem to get out of. Gonna work on that in the next few days to see if I can get it working again. I really enjoyed having it, so I was pretty bummed when it took a shit on me. So far the thing has been nothing but problems, but the good parts about it outweigh the bad so I guess I'm not too bummed. Like I said, the new phone is helping me not be as bummed.

I was also having a string of bike problems. The great thing about riding a track bike is that it is very minimalistic. The bad thing is that it's so minimalistic that if just one part breaks, the whole bike is rendered useless. No bueno. Oh well. It's better than paying for a new starter, engine, etc. I suppose it's really just a first world problem.

I also decided to go against something I said in a previous blog. I suppose I'm going to actually do something for my birthday. I wanted to be the grumpy depressed guy this winter, but something in me is fighting in. Maybe my subconscious is trying to take over and get me though things. It would make sense. So I'm having a party at my place on my birthday night after work. It'll be nice to be around a lot of friends and NOT be out at a bar or something.

Still not feeling Christmas tho. I'm perfectly ok with this. I haven't really liked this holiday in almost 15 years. Quite a few things have helped seal the deal on that one in that time as well. The holiday just isn't what it was when I was younger, and it seems like it never will be again. I could go into a long rant about how I'm not religious, or I hate being a consumer whore, or a myriad of other reasons why I don't like it, but the fact of the matter is that the main reason is it just makes me sad, and makes me feel like an utter failure at the same time. Not a good combo.

With it being so slow at the shop lately, I don't really see how I'm going to be able to save enough money to move to PDX by Jan. Unless something really awesome happens, it's probably gonna be a bit longer. I do see myself getting up there for a visit in the next month. Hopefully just staying positive about the move will help generate good karma and make things happen.

 Since the only people who really read this blog are from my FB page, if you need my new number just send me a message and I'll get back to you. In fact, I think I'll just put it on my FB info page. yeah... there we go.

OK kids, until next time.

2 comments:

  1. Good to see you have a positive look on things. you can come up here for Xmas if you want.
    https://www2.allegiantair.com/aares#f52662c6712259bfb56e3b0910d4cba2

    ReplyDelete
  2. If I can't afford to get to Portland, I highly doubt I'll have the money to travel to Montana. Besides, I wanna go there when I don't have to wear 10 layers of clothing ;)

    ReplyDelete