Well, it's time. Time for the first blog in quite a while. All the proper parameters have been met. Laptop: Check Wireless: Check Proper Inspiration: Check.
So what is going on? Well, as of right now I'm working at Sacramento Tattoo & Piercing, living in Tahoe Park just outside of downtown Sac, and basically scraping by right now. I'm still trying to get out of the hole I dug for myself months ago. It's not easy, it gets me down, and I fucking hate it. The upside to this is I feel like I'm actually coming out of the hole. In fact, I almost feel out of it.
Being back in sac is kinda weird. I like it, and I hate it at the same time. It's really awesome being around friends I've had for so long, that I know I can count on for those words of wisdom I always seem to get from them. I missed my old hangouts, but they've changed in ways that I know aren't good for me. I love sac, but this isn't really where I feel like I should be right now. No, scratch that. Right NOW I should be in sac. However, in a very short time, I will be moving on. More about that in another blog.
As for the marriage... it's completely over. She doesn't want to work things out, and frankly neither do I. I guess I had some pretty heavy blinders on about our relationship for the past couple of years. As much as I wanted to work things out, the more I was away from her and the more I thought about things, the more I came to the conclusion that we just don't belong together. The real bitch of it is, when I try to think back to where it started to go wrong, I see that it happened even before we got married. That's a hard pill to swallow.
I guess I've grown up thinking that I NEEDED to get married, that I was SUPPOSED to get married. Well, after two failed marriages, I've found that obviously that isn't the case. I could go into a long tangent about how marriage is outdated, and came from a time when people barely lived beyond 40 years, but I'll save that for some other angsty time. However, this doesn't really change my inner need to be connected to someone. Yet another subject for a later date.
I guess the real topper to everything that's going on is that we're in the beginning of the holiday season. It's my most hated part of the year, much like many of you. I used to LOVE this time of year when I was younger. Over the years, I've had nothing but reasons to hate it. Over the past 7 years, I slowly started to like it, mainly because of my mother in law. This year that ended and I see myself just hating this time of year even more. All it reminds me of is loss and failure. This year is packing an extra punch of that. I know that I'll do Thanksgiving with my sister, but that's all I'm committing to. I don't really want to do anything on my birthday, and I want NOTHING to do with xmas. NOTHING. I know this bothers family and friends, but if they truly knew how I felt, they might leave me alone about it.
So here's when most people reading this are saying "Gary, suck it up and move on. Get happy, find a hobby, and pull yourself up."
Well, first things first... it's so EASY to SAY that shit. Doing it is a totally different thing. I can be a very positive person, most people know this. But when things go bad, depression hits like a black blanket of magnificent proportions. It's heavy, it's consuming, and it doesn't seem to want to go away. That said, I seem to have found at least a little bit of a way to shoo it off. I'm trying, believe me. I HATE being like this. Sad fucking sucks.
I've had a few people really help me out lately. Some of them came outta the woodwork, and some have been there for quite a while. In no particular order I'd like to thank Michelle, Chalon, Rochelle, Val, Mel, Benny, Brandon, Jackie, Kheri, Lindsey(x2), Chris, Albie, Loren, Jon, Jimbo, Jalynn, Kelle & Travis, Jeremy, Stephanie, and whoever else I've forgotten. (i feel like i'm accepting an award)
ok. till next time.
Gary,
ReplyDeleteAnyone who has been where you have been and where you are would uniquely know that there is no quick fix or a defined time frame to be "over it." Seeing how you are the only one who really knows what all has transpired to bring you to the here and now you are truly the only one properly qualified to say when it is time. That being said I can't think of a better way then to spit it all out on the paper and free some of your head space. Writing has always gotten me further through my troubles and my joys. I really see your passion both sides in your writing and my full blown ADHD ass reads every word. I skip ahead boring parts written by some of my favorite authors. You have no boring parts and I find it beautiful that you share all the parts. You seriously have a great voice as a story teller and the best part is how relatable you are. I hope that things keep looking up and that you keep writing and that you know that you have an amazing gift that I am very glad that you share with me and everyone else who is lucky enough to read this. I had a seriously rough evening and this made me feel better and put my own shit into perspective so thanks!
Glad to see you're back to blogging! I was checking pretty regularly and finally some luck!!!
ReplyDeleteStay strong and keep your head up. Also, pity parties are cool once in a while, we all need one here or there. The important part is pulling yourself up and heading forward!!
Welp, as for the end of the relationship; it is what it is. Over. You'll love again, you'll feel for someone again; just not right now. Today it's time to work on the shit you need to work on to be a happier and better balanced you. So, when you do meet the "right person" someday, you'll have already done the transformative work on yourself and have stronger legs on which to stand as a husband/partner/lover/etc.
ReplyDeleteThe bonus side to working your process involves being able to eventually see "incompatible" people walking into your path from the start and having the personal insight to step out of their way long before these folks entrench themselves firmly into your life.
In the meantime, I'm quite sure you'll make the right choices for yourself whether you live in Sacto or not.That's what this "New Life" is all about, right? Thinking carefully and deliberately planning out the right choices so you can emerge as a "rebuilt" and "better" man at the end of all this bullshit. You're doing it right, Gary. You really are. And if you gotta hunker down over the course of the holidays out of self preservation to make this happen, by all means do. Just remember to try to find some semblance of happiness or a moment of joy for yourself because you matter, too.
<3,
B
I know, I have been a great help. Unloading my problems unto you helps you incredibly. Lindsey( since I don't know how to post this other than anonymous)
ReplyDelete